Skip to content

Disclaimer: The purpose of this Blog

May 18, 2010

“The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do bad things, but because of those who look on and do nothing.” – Albert Einstein

This blog expresses my (Monica Pignotti) opinions and analysis based upon evidence and facts, as I understand them. See my other blog, Monica Pignotti: The Truth for rebuttals to the internet smear and disinformation campaign about me initiated by people who are obviously upset by my evaluation of certain mental health practices. Go here to read a Statement of Support  from social work, psychology and other mental health professionals.

Monica Feb 2014

The intent and purpose of this blog is to provide the readers with information and points of view that they might not otherwise be provided with by proponents of the therapies I am discussing who may sincerely believe they are helping people. It is not the purpose of this blog to give any specific advice on specific professionals and it is not the purpose of this blog to dissuade anyone from seeing any particular professional or to recommend any particular professional and my positive or negative views ought not to be interpreted in that manner. My purpose is to provide the reader with accurate information so that the reader can make more informed choices, should they or anyone in their family need help from a mental health professional, but the choices are yours and yours alone to make. The opinions I express on this blog are solely my own and ought not to be interpreted as advice. I would urge people to consult a wide variety of sources of information before consulting any mental health professional. The decision you make is yours and yours alone.

Additionally, nothing in this blog is intended to be legal advice in any way, shape or form.  I am simply expressing my opinions on certain cases. As a human being, I make no claims of being infallible. If any reader believes that I have made any factually incorrect statements, I welcome feedback and correction, as long as adequate evidence is provided.

From → Monica Pignotti

8 Comments
  1. If you were to give advice to me or my children, or even children to come in our family, what would it be?

  2. First of all, as I stated in this posting, it is not the purpose of this blog to give specific advice to anyone about any particular situation, so I cannot give any specific advice to you about your children. That is not my role here. I can only give general recommendations suggestions and express my opinions and whatever I say in my blog is just that. People can read what I write and decide for themselves if what I say makes sense. Margaret Singer has an excellent list of questions she suggests people ask when hiring a therapist (see her book, Crazy Therapies). Do not assume that just because a therapist is licensed, that they will necessarily make the best choices because that is not always the case. I would highly recommend anyone seeing a therapist ask that person what evidence exists to support the interventions they are offering, and if all they can offer you is positive testimonials from clients rather than actual studies, that is not a therapist I would want to recommend to anyone in my own family. A therapist should be able to tell a client what all of your treatment options are, even for treatments they do not provide and the evidence that exists for those options. I may do a post on this in the future, as there is more to say on this topic than I can put into a comment.

  3. I don’t have time to read all this right now but I am glad I found your blog. Hassan, Rick Ross, and their ilk are terrible. Everyone is identified as being in some kind of “cult” and then their children can be snatched just because they don’t share the strange plastic-american-suburban beliefs of these cultural barbarians.

    • I believe them when they say they don’t do forcible deprogrammings anymore, but what I do have a problem with is the mental and emotional manipulativeness of Steve Hassan’s approach. He seems to think that this is okay, as long it is being done for “good” — by his definition, that is.

  4. A Very Discouraged Grandmother and Licensed Clinical Social Worker
    Over the past year in dealing with the Division of Family Services (DFS) and the Jefferson County Court System I have learned you are better off as an abused animal in Jefferson County than an abused child. At least as an abused animal you can count on attaining some assistance out of the problem. As an abused child in Jefferson County even sexual abuse of a 2 year old doesn’t appear enough for them to protect the child!
    I have been a mandated reporter as a social worker (LCSW) in the state of Missouri for over 31 years. Throughout my career I have had to report abuse on several occasions during the years and found that DFS used to take complaints seriously. But with my own grandchild in distress at the tender age of 2 currently ‘nothing’ has been taken seriously including sexual abuse reported within the week. I not only hot-lined this abuse to DFS but I also took my grandson to Children’s Hospital for evaluation where their social worker took the situation seriously and hot-lined the abuse for a second time. But Jefferson County DFS allowed the defenseless toddler to return into the abusive environment!
    Jefferson County Family Court System appears to be nothing more than a ‘good ole boys’ club frankly. It doesn’t matter to them if a parent has 1, 2, or even 3 drug tests return positive for drug abuse. It doesn’t matter to them that the same individual was on probation for a DUI at the time of those very same drug testing results. There are no consequences for illegal behavior in Jefferson County.(In fact if you are a criminal I would personally recommend that if you commit a crime and are apprehended make sure it is in Jefferson County where some judges appear to respect their prestige far more than their positions). Legality appears frivolous in Jefferson County.
    Additionally, there is at least one Guardian ad Litem (GAL) for Jefferson County who passes a home study without beds in the home for the children. Apparently neither the Division of Family Services (DFS) nor the GAL/Court System feels children need beds – after all Jefferson County lives by different rules I discovered. Other issues that Jefferson County sees as petty include neglect, physical altercations between the adults involving a gun and knife in front of the children, violations of restraining orders and the lack of appropriate medical care as needed.
    So once again I reiterate frankly I would prefer to be an abused animal in Jefferson County than an abused child. I can only assume that animal’s lives are more valuable than children’s lives to the people who work for that county. I’m pretty sure I am not the only person to have learned this distressing lesson. Don’t fool yourself – young children are at risk of abuse and neglect from the entire system in Jefferson County. There isn’t a thing you can do about it either. Their hot-line appears to be a farce – they allow sexual abuse, neglect and trauma. And the family court system is quite the sick system as well. Just keep in mind, you probably elected some of these people into positions to fail the innocent children. And I’ll bet not one of them hold volunteer positions either!

    Unfortunately, these are my beliefs about the systems that are supposed to be protecting our children – If this is misplaced please move it to a more appropriate spot within your blog! From what I can tell – it will be taking many forms of therapeutic interventions to assist my grandson to heal from his trauma filled life! IFS would not be one of them!
    Deb Kuehnel, LCSW

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Invitation to Dr. Ronald Federici « Potentially Harmful and Other Questionable Therapies
  2. The Therapy Guru « Potentially Harmful and Other Questionable Therapies
  3. Latest Google Searches: Sorry to Disappoint You but No Defamation Here « Potentially Harmful and Other Questionable Therapies

Leave a Reply

